Navigation Bar - Text Links at Bottom of Page


JOEL COEN (Writer/Director/Producer) was honored at the Cannes Film Festival in 2001 as Best Director for The Man Who Wasn't There and in 1991 as Best Director for Barton Fink. He was named Best Director by the New York Film Critics Circle, the National Board of Review, and the British Academy of Film and Television Arts for 1996's Fargo; and he also won the Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay for Fargo, which he co-wrote with his brother Ethan. The screenplay for O Brother, Where Art Thou?, also co-written with Ethan, was nominated for a BAFTA and an Academy Award for Best Adapted Screenplay. Other films that he has directed and co-written are Intolerable Cruelty, The Big Lebowksi, The Hudsucker Proxy, Miller's Crossing, Raising Arizona and Blood Simple. Coen co-directed and co-wrote the 2004 comedy The Ladykillers and Inside Llewyn Davis with Ethan.

In 2007, the Coen brothers were honored with numerous accolades for their adaptation of Cormac McCarthy's No Country for Old Men, including the Directors Guild of America, BAFTA, and Academy Awards for Best Picture, Best Director and Best Adapted Screenplay. The film also won the Golden Globe Award for Best Screenplay; Best Picture, Best Director and Best Screenplay from the New York Film Critics Circle; and Best Picture and Best Adapted Screenplay from the National Board of Review. The film's cast won Best Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture by the Screen Actors Guild, and Javier Bardem won the SAG and Academy Award as Best Supporting Actor, among other accolades, for his role in this film.

The Coens' 2008 comedy Burn After Reading was nominated for BAFTA and WGA awards for Best Original Screenplay. The brothers' next film, A Serious Man, received Academy Award nominations for Best Picture and Best Original Screenplay, and was also nominated for BAFTA and WGA awards for Best Original Screenplay.

The Coens' True Grit, released in 2010, was nominated for Academy Awards in 10 categories, including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Actor (Jeff Bridges) and Best Supporting Actress (Hailee Steinfeld).


Home | Theaters | Video | TV

Your Comments and Suggestions are Always Welcome.

2018 Universal Pictures Inc.,  All Rights Reserved.


Find:  HELP!